Perkins, Hitchcock, Med. Valley claim top prizes at MCC Inter-High Day

Testing at MCC's Inter-High Day
Thursday, March 24, 2022

Perkins County, Hitchcock County and Medicine Valley claimed the top school academic awards Wednesday at McCook Community College’s annual Inter-high Day Scholastic Competition.

Perkins County finished first in the large-school division, Southern Valley was second and Arapahoe placed third. Hitchcock County was first in Division 2 with Cambridge second and Dundy County-Stratton third. Medicine Valley placed first in the small-school division with Paxton second and Eustis Farnam third.

Each of the nine schools placing in the top three in their division won $500 scholarships for their schools.

In addition, the students placing first in each of the 31 academic tests received $500 scholarships and those who placed in the top three received tuition waivers for three free credits to classes at Mid-Plains Community College. Wednesday’s tests resulted in the awarding of $20,000 in scholarships and more than $25,000 in Mid-Plains Community College tuition credits.

There were nearly 400 student on campus from 15 area high schools which also included: Wauneta-Palisade, Maywood, Southwest, Hayes Center, McCook and Maxwell.

Here are the results:

Accounting Principles – 1. Jacob Holzfaster, Paxton; 2. Emma Rasmussen, Cambridge; 3. Mallory McClenahan, Perkins County.

Advanced Math – 1. Meredith Gloy, Perkins County; 2. Ruel Malcolm, Wauneta-Palisade; 3. Jeffrey Nelsen, Medicine Valley.

Algebra I – 1. Kevin Bantam, Medicine Valley; 2. Emily Cornelius, Perkins County; 3. Amelia Minary, Southwest.

Algebra II – 1. Trent Kisker, Hitchcock County; 2. Joe Brown, Medicine Valley; 3. Ethan Miller, McCook.

American Government/History – 1. Aimee Merrill, Hitchcock County; 2. Lillian Sayer, Cambridge; 3. Trevor Brown, Southern Valley.

Biology – 1. Brenna Deterding, Cambridge; 2. Alese Williams, Arapahoe; 3. Louie Doyle, Medicine Valley.

Business Communications – 1. Mackayla Wallin, Perkins County; 2. Gavin Smith, Perkins County; 3. Gage Gerlach, Maywood.

Business Microsoft Office Suite – 1. Klayton Rinne, Dundy County-Stratton; 2. Bailey Hanes, Maywood; 3. Alexis Wood, Maywood.

Chemistry – 1. Ansley Williams, Eustis-Farnam; 2. Austin Meyer, Perkins County; 3. Austin Haddix, Hitchcock County.     

Criminal Justice – 1. Creighton Hecox, Eustis-Farnam; 2. Camden DeWester, Hitchcock County; 3. Kayla Reichenberg, Perkins County.

English Composition – 1. Megan tenBensel, Cambridge; 2. Kyler Cox, Hayes Center; 3. Shelby Rickert, Southern Valley.                                          

English Literature – 1. Addison Randel, McCook; 2. Jacey Kent, Cambridge; 3. Kyleah Branham, Southern Valley.

Family and Consumer Sciences – 1. Southern Valley (Jenna Hunt and Hanna Henry); 2. Arapahoe (Rhiannon Sich and Tracy Roskop); 3. Paxton (Mercy Eagan and Savanna McMahon).

Geometry – 1. Avery McConville, Southwest; 2. Stella Heapy, Medicine Valley; 3. Trevor Carlsen, Hitchcock County.

Graphic Design – 1. Maxine Hill, Dundy County-Stratton; 2. Elizabeth Meyers, Southern Valley; 3. Autumn Deterding, Cambridge.

Health Occupations – 1. Riley Bortner, Hitchcock County; 2. Lillian Wiese, Dundy County-Stratton; 3. Isaiah Hatcher, Perkins County.                

Information Technology – 1. Cole Barnett, Southwest; 2. Aiden Barger, McCook; 3. Elliot Adams, Southern Valley.                    

Keyboarding – 1. Ryder Roth, Perkins County; 2. Addison Tracy, Maxwell; 3. Camden Wright, Southern Valley.

Marketing – 1. Southern Valley (Kamden Bose, Nathan McPhillamy); 2. Southwest (Ashlynn Latimer, Gracie  Fries, Abigail Shultz); 3. Arapahoe (Leigha Odell, Areli Calamaco, Hilary Downey).                   

MCC Facts – 1. Elizabeth Meyers, Southern Valley; 2. Alec Sundell, Dundy County-Stratton; 3. Mauricio Diaz, Hitchcock County.

Monologue Workshop & Theatre – 1. Jasmine Burch, Paxton; 2. Destiny Guess, Cambridge; 3. Delaney Chitchfield, Southwest.

Music Instrumental – 1. Bailey Hidy, Hitchcock County; 2. Katie Hrnchir, Hitchcock County; 3. August Miller, Dundy County-Stratton.

Music Vocal – 1. Cally Smith, Hitchcock County; 2. Summer Postlewait, Perkins County; 3. Paige Bopp, McCook.         

Music Theory – 1. Wayne Lee, Arapahoe; 2. Carrick McCorkle, Arapahoe; 3. Emme Sims, Perkins County.

Personal Finance – 1. Cambridge (Jacey Kent, Brodie Mitchell): 2. Hitchcock County (Mackenzie Carlson, Kailee Kolbet). 3. Perkins County (Meredith Gloy, Mackayla Wallin).     

Physics – 1. Aimee Merrill, Hitchcock County, Mark Nelms, Dundy County-Stratton, and Deacon Tedder, Maxwell; 2. Joree Cumming, Maxwell, and Caylin Barnett, Southwest; 3. Meghan Bishop, Perkins County, Jeb Kohl, Perkins County and Austin Meyer, Perkins County.

Sociology – 1. Dayami Ruiz, Perkins County; 2. Brenna Deterding, Cambridge; 3. Creighton Hecox, Eustis-Farnam.                       

STEM/Engineering – 1. Damin Luedke, Paxton; 2. Eric Gonzalez, Perkins County; 3. Kahner Kotschwar, Medicine Valley.

Welding – 1.Ethan Sihm, Perkins County; 2. Colby  Hoskovec, Wauneta-Palisade; 3. Kaleb Christofferson, Hitchcock County.